Scan and Retrieve Text via iPhone

Posted: February 27, 2010 in iPhone Apps, Reviews
Tags:

So I have this problem.  I have over 200 poems published in the last 10 years and no way of properly cataloging them. The thought of typing them all out is extremely daunting (soft copies were lost in the crash of 2004 – back up your computer NOW!).

Enter the brilliant idea of scanning and copying the text via iPhone. But what app can do that? I did a quick search and found a super app called OCRTOOL which works as a scanner and then converts the image to text via OCR.

It works beautifully! 😀 No need to retype my old poems. I just take a photo of the page, and the app corrects automatically to an accuracy rate of about 95%. I can just copy and paste the poem into Awesome Note then sync to Google Docs! Best $1.99 I spent on the App Store!

Leave a Reply

